Travel smarter

One of my new year resolutions of 2015 is to continue to learn and develop myself. There are many ways that I can do it, so I decided to begin this quest by re-examine my mindset of trip-planning. Usually I decided to go to any place not because I want to go there, but because either I can achieve some justifiable benefits (such as conducting interviews for doctoral research) or I am able to visit friends.

My upcoming trip to Lapland is no exception. I plan to go there because I am able to conduct some pilot interviews and at the same time visit some friends up there. I spent a lot of time comparing the ticket prices between Finnair and Norwegian, hoping to get the best deal. In the end I found a reasonable 99 euros around trip flight. The tradeoff is that I have to return three days later than the original day which I planned to return to Helsinki. By doing so I saved around 40 euros. But is it really worth it?

At first my reaction is that of course it’s going to be worth it. I am not going to stay in luxurious hotels, to start with. I will stay with my friends so there will not be additional outrageous spending. However when I come to think about it, it might not be necessarily cheaper to save those 40 euros. Apart from accommodation, all the additional life expenses might make this trip pretty expensive.

I will record all the spending in Lapland and report to you. I will write down all the small spendings, such as airport taxi, coffee, groceries, gifts, bus fare and so on. Hopefully I will have a better chance to transcend from travelling to smart travelling!

I took this picture last year I went to Lapland for conference. It booked the ticket immediately because it was on sale. It turned out that 70% of the conference was in Finnish and the workshop that I was interested in attending was cancelled. What should I say... maybe what I need is not increase the quantity of travel, but the quality of it.

I took this picture last year I went to Lapland for conference. It booked the ticket immediately because it was on sale. It turned out that 70% of the conference was in Finnish and the workshop that I was interested in attending was cancelled. What should I say… maybe what I need is not increase the quantity of travel, but the quality of it.

Leave a Reply

